For Coaches: Notes on ‘Means of Participation’ | Doug Lemov

 

 

Sometimes You Want ‘Em to Think

 

A topic I’ve been thinking about as I’ve watched coaches over the past couple of months is something I call ‘means of participation.’ It’s relevant during questioning. I’ve written about if for classroom teachers here.  But it’s relevant for coaches too- questioning is important in building decision-making and reinforcing knowledge through recall practice but it’s not always as efficient as it could be. So I’ve adapted the notes I sent to a coach at an elite academy after I observing him recently to make the case more directly for other coaches. I…

Continue reading at:

http://ift.tt/2t3Vaoh

Leave a Reply

