My Emerging Future: The Stories I Live as First Nations Abroad | Benjamin Doxtdator

Interior of the Best Indian Kitchen on the Crow Reservation by Richard Throssel (Native American, Cree (adopted Crow), 1882–1933), 1910

This is a response to NPR’s Codeswitch episode from April 19, 2017 where Kristina Ogilvie asks if other “mixed kids” suffer from “racial imposter syndrome.”
‘Doxtdator’? Boy, that’s a hard last name to say. It’s kinda cool. Where’s it from?

I usually let people guess for awhile before telling them that my last name is First Nations. Often, I get a smile back with a side of slight confusion. After all, I don’t look “visually Indian”, to borrow a phrase…

Continue reading at:

http://ift.tt/2siyr7J

Leave a Reply

