Peer Tutoring | Darren Miller

I’m not much of a fan of peer tutoring, so-called discovery learning, and the like.  My belief has always been that my school district pays me a moderate amount of money on the assumption that I know more math than anyone else in the classroom, and thus I should do the teaching.  Math Curmudgeon agrees:

I personally hate it. I’ve hated it since 7th grade when teachers started “encouraging” me to tutor other kids. I hated it in high school because I always got paired up with kids I didn’t like or who resented that I was smarter than they were. Call me selfish? Tough shit; I was a teenager….

Continue reading at:

http://ift.tt/2vSTIHP

Leave a Reply

